PhotoLab's Pleasant Simplicity

I’m new to PhotoLab and one of the things about it that I enjoy the most is its simplicity. I don’t mean that its capabilities are simple, but that the implementation of those capabilities and the user interface are pretty straightforward. Arguably, PhotoLab has the best-in-class raw conversion, lens correction, Smart Lighting, noise reduction, and ClearView. But applying those corrections is ‘simple.’

And I’m glad PhotoLab does not have, at least in v6, such things as automatic sky replacement, specialty masking for portraits, and many of the other ‘AI’ things seen in other raw editors. I feel as if it’s better to have excellent general-purpose tools that can be used in many specific situations.

My primary complaints are the lack of metadata presets and the lag going from PhotoLibrary to Customize. A better print module and the ability to read HEIC image files would both be nice additions and they wouldn’t add to the complexity of use. Here’s hoping for a worthwhile v7 upgrade this fall.

4 Likes

Moderation and cautious use are the keys to that particular feature. It’s just too easy to overcook an image using Clearview.

That’s for sure! Just a touch.

I do not understand people being glad that others ( who might have different opinions on various matters ) do not have things that they (others) might find useful ( because nobody is showing them down your throat to use ) … as for best in class “lens correction” - that depends on the lens… I “arguably” have a problem with a module that provides the SAME corrections for a macro lens @ infinity vs @ 1:1 distance being a best in class approach :joy:

2 Likes

And that is the key. Can a software developer add features without mucking up the interface and adding complexity? Take a look at ON1’s Photo RAW as an example of a ‘do everything’ application that has a complex and scattered interface.