Newbie struggling with color after DxO PL6 automatic corrections

Hi friends, I’m an amateur photographer getting back into photography after many years away. I am working to improve my raw processing and throughout the 30 day trial I finally got to the point where I understand the basics of many of the corrections and have built a set of presets to streamline processing.

However I have realized now that I have a big problem with color. When DxO processes my raw and applies Preset DxO Standard, my image becomes immediately washed out. The sky is turned nearly gray (I use a polarizer and get bright blues on the Nikon Z50 display) and greens are washed out and the whole image loses depth between highlights and shadows. I thought that this was a correction process and I spent weeks building presets that jack-up contrast, big values for smart lighting, clear view, Color Accentuation, HSL, etc trying to bring back the color.

My issue is that when I load a raw for the first time, for 1 second I see a beautiful color with bright colors and full saturation. And then -click- PL6 applies a preset and the whole image becomes totally washed out.

I have noticed that when I use “5. No Corrections” preset about 50% of the color comes back, but it’s still nothing compared to the beautiful color that I see for 1 second before PL6 automatically changes the photo. I also see the beautiful color in my Nikon Z50 display or that the Nikon JPEGs have (I shoot raw+jpeg).

I’ll post some JPEG+raw of a photo that demonstrates what I’m talking about. This photo uses Nikon Z50 with the Z 16-50mm lens, with ND6 and polarizer. It’s not a pretty picture but often I am practicing and learning!

1. JPEG directly from camera (and identical to what I see in PL6 for 1 second when I load a new raw and the automatic adjustments have not taken effect):
  2. JPEG exported from PL6 immediately after automatic raw adjustment occurs, no presets
  3. DxO Standard preset