Mountains in the mist

Help with “Ansel Adams” look please…

We were coming back yesterday when the clouds reminded me of the famous Ansel Adams Snake River photo. Unfortunately, my camera wasn’t with me, and we didn’t make it to the famous spot while the clouds were "right. So… I settled for this stitched image captured with an iphone to inspire me to actually look for the opportunity in the future.

For fun, I’d like to mimic Ansel Adams’s style, but I have no experience attempting to use filmpack for such an effort, or knowledge of the various film types.

I understand this doesn’t get the river light reflections, smoke haze hangs in the air, and there isn’t as much snow on the mountains this time of year. And it appears like the Adams photo was taken later in the day too with the light more "through the clouds (view is to the southwest) rather than beside and reflecting off them from the south. As such, I hope this isn’t a fool’s errand.

Just trying to get some ideas to mimic the iconic look.

Suggestions welcome!
Thank you!

Filmpack - with random B&W film and added fine contrast:

Initial photo (stitched) but uploaded as jpg for simplicity.

For reference, here’s a screen grab of the famous photo.

You need an infinitely lower tripod. :slight_smile:

Just kidding…

I could be mistaken, but I believe I have seen images of Ansel Adams at this location and his tripod is mounted on the roof of his truck.

Whether this actual shot needed the higher vantage point or not, it is still a stunning image.

From experience of using LF cameras and B&W film, unfortunately, there really isn’t much chance of reworking that image, mainly due to the excessive haze, lack of contrast and lack of visible clear sky, which really helps bring out contrast when using a red filter.

My friend Helen is good at this kind of thing and she will tell you the same.

Take these as examples…