Massively Slow Export on a relatively decent machine

I am a professional photographer who recently bought DxO PhotoLab 7 because I am trying to migrate away from Capture One and Lightroom.

However I am finding exports, INCREDIBLY slow on a machine that I don’t think is that bad.

I am using a MacBook Pro 16 2019 with a Radeon Pro 5500M and Core i7. I’ve enabled DeepPRIME acceleration.

I’ve added some images for context. But over 5 hours for only 92/128 images export is unacceptable. Yes I’m using DeepPRIME and I understand that it may slow down the export, but this is kind of ridiculous.

I mean I have a wedding to photograph next week which will have 3-4 times as many images. I still have my Capture One for now so I guess I’ll have to process and export on that.

I mean is this my fault? Should I have not bought this software because 2019 MacBook Pro with an i7 is now considered a potato? Did I waste $230?

Does anyone have any possible solutions to this that doesn’t involve buying a new computer or disabling DeepPRIME ? I don’t make enough to do that and DeepPRIME is like the Kian selling feature. But maybe there are some settings I don’t know about or some other factor I should consider?

(I’m posting this question from my phone since my machine is still exporting.)

What is the export speed like if you change the maximum number of simultaneously processed images back down to two instead of seven?

I have a PC with a i7 9700k (8 core/8 thread) and raising it over two slows it down measurably (8 instead of 7 seconds per image) and becomes painfully slow when going much higher.

2 Likes

Indeed. Over the course of 10 years as a DxO user and 4 computer systems I’ve never found any benefit from trying to force more than 2 simultaneous image exports.

1 Like