Sorry, but what’s wrong? You no longer have a license for the old version after purchasing an upgrade, but you can still keep using it as long as you have activations available. If you don’t then you can’t reset the activation counter for the old version the way you can for a licensed version, so there is a difference.
if you’re thinking about the discussion in this thread then there’s no disagreement.