White balance pick colour not working as expected

Hello everyone,

Thank you in advance for your help.
I’m a professional photographer taking my first steps with PhotoLab.

So far I haven’t had much success with the white balance colour selection.
Before a photo session in my studio, I always take a picture with a grey card to get the right WB. When I click on the card, I expect the WB to be adjusted.
As you can see in the attached images, when I do this in PL, the resulting corrected WB is clearly wrong. I usually get something around 5,500K.

I also tried clicking on a neutral background in a portrait shot. Same results. Again, WB is normally 5,500K.

Finally, I tried it on a photo with fluorescent lighting, which is normally around 4,000K. This time I had some success. My camera auto WB got 3,910K, and by clicking in the grey column, PhotoLab adjusted it to 3,816K.

For reference, I tried with Canon, Fijifilm and DNG raw files, with the same results.
I use an iMac with Ventura 13.06.1 OS

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance

Rafael

Looking at your screenshots, I found that with the warehouse photo, you manually selected a specific colour rendering, while colour rendering is switched off in the other photos.

Check what happens, when you change colour rendering by applying one of the provided presets. Normally, the correct camera body is selected automatically. Manually selecting a different rendering can be used for creative variations or taste. Nevertheless, WB pickup should not cause unwanted results.

When I was using a Canon 400D and processing its .CR2 files and the ‘colour rendering’ in PL 2/3/5 set to type: ‘generic’ with ‘rendering’: ‘DxO camera profile’ then the colour balance was usually fine.