Sharpening images with PL6

I’m new to PhotoLab (come from C1 Pro22) so you’ll have to excuse me if I’m missing something obvious.

When processing an image I was able to toggle the sharpening tab from off to on for any images that were shot with the Summilux 35mm 1.4 when paired with the M11 but, when I try to do the same thing with images shot with the Leica 28mm Elmarit I’m unable to toggle the sharpening tools on. In fact, there are a number of Leica lenses that don’t allow me to turn on the sharpening tab.

So, am I missing something here? It seems like unless there is an optical module for the lens then I can’t sharpen the image but I assumed that I must be missing something as not being able to sharpen an image would obviously cause problems.

Thanks for any help. Cheers

Yes, your lens may not be a module available, you can check it here.
It’s also indicated on your image in the image browser by an icon.

edit: You can make a request for this lens here

1 Like

Yes unfortunately if there isn’t a module available you can’t use lens sharpening and are just left with the USM.

1 Like

But you can also use the Fine Contrast, Highlights, Mid-tones and Shadows sliders from FilmPack, which can give some beautiful and subtle sharpening effects.

2 Likes

Why not use the Unsharp Mask in the DETAILS Palette?

Yes, I just spotted how to apply sharpening other than the lens settings.

As it happens, DXO Photolab6 is a no go for me. The keywording tool doesn’t allow manual ordering of keywords which I need as I have to rank them in order of importance. C1 Pro allows this so I’ll stick with that until DXO provides a function to manually order the keywords etc.

Thanks

UM (in PhotoLab) is a fall-back work-around for situations where there is not a DxO Optics Module for the {body+lens} combo used to capture the image. Using UM is a purely manual process - and much inferior to DxO applied sharpening that’s specific to the {body+lens} combo used to capture the image.

John M