ReTouch Tool on MacOS (and Windows too)

I’ve been making a video showing the use of the Repair and Clone tool and I have a couple of observations.

Firstly the ReTouch tool is massively improved and although it’s very close, I think the extra flexibility moves it just ahead of Lightroom’s offering. Worth noting though that Generative Fill in Photoshop is very good indeed at removing telephone lines from in front of trees! I know, different tool with different intent but that’s the state of the art right now.

Improvements in the ReTouch tool usability could be made. When adjusting the source at 100%, which is necessary for detailed work, it is difficult to see the outline of the “patch” - I’m a landscape photographer and a difficult job like removing telephone lines from in front of trees would be easier if I could see the outline of the patch better. Adobe has bolder linking arrows and heavier outline. It’s more usable because of this.

A few people on Facebook have mentioned that they can’t work out how to use the tool at all (hence the video). I think this is partly down to the visibility issue (see above), but also it is difficult, compared again to say Photoshop, to move a selection precisely into place. This matters to probably 10% of use cases - trees and bushes in my case.

The “pin” obscures the pixels in the case of very small adjustments so it’s hard to repair or clone with accuracy.

Otherwise, fantastically improved tool!

2 Likes

…you basically request that (outl)ines of repair tools and linking lines should be more visible?

PS: you can add your vote by clicking on the blue box left of the thread title, just below the vote counter.

2 Likes

Interesting that you’re working on a video to demo/explain PL’s ReTouch tool, Chris … You may like to provide a link to it here, for benefit of Forum-members.

Note: The title of this post is misleading (as a PL-on-Win user, I nearly skipped over it) … since PL’s ReTouch tool is not only specific to Apple OS X …