Processing "dull", gray-sky images in PhotoLab 5

Hope it’s OK to ask this as a new thread, as it doesn’t fit into the threads I’m already following.

My question is what techniques can I use to get the most out of photos taken on dull non-sunny days, with gray skies, and not much color. It’s pretty much the opposite of the photos I’ve been working with/on for a few years, which almost have too much brightness and color.

I took the following photo a couple of hours ago, standing on the “pool deck” on my building, looking out at a rather drab looking sail boat. Behind it is the city of Miami, with a few small spots of color. I was going to emphasize the clouds by using a control line, but I didn’t get the result I was after, as the buildings changed as well, but then I decided that this was a good thing, so both buildings and sky got emphasized a little more.

My question is both what I “can” do, along with what I “should” do. I noticed the small boat tied up to the large one was a brilliant blue, despite the lack of sunshine, and I started to think I could brighten up the green leaves on the plants, but then I got to thinking it would look “fake”.

Something I learned from @Joanna was to use the level tool to make the buildings look vertical, rather than any horizontal lines. I thought about enhancing the trees and bushes on the island, but that might start to look manipulated. I quit where I was at, unsure if I went too far, or not far enough.

One last thing - some of my cameras have software that “enhances” the photo. I’d like to think that a raw image has no such enhancements included. I’ve also learned that with Adobe, there’s some kind of preset that boosts the “impact” of an image - as far as I know, PhotoLab does none of that. When I opened this image in PhotoLab, it applied the “Default Preset”. Should I have considered using a different preset, that might be more appropriate?

L1004118 | 2022-01-26.dng (29.4 MB)
L1004118 | 2022-01-26.dng.dop (14.4 KB)