I’m on the latest PhotoLab 10 iteration and noticed that the perspective tool is broken. In PL9 I can adjust the tool as I please, even if I’ve selected for it to automatically correct perspective in a RAW file. In PL10 if I let it do it automatically and it does a poor job, I try to adjust the tool as I see fit, and a message appears at the bottom of the image that says “Invalid configuration” with a yellow triangle icon next to it. It won’t let me apply the change. Sometimes I can override this by resetting the automatic perspective and turning it off, but sometimes it takes more hassle. This was never an issue before and needs to be fixed, please.
Oh, and one more thing I noticed; unless I’m zoomed in, resizing, rotating and moving the local adjustment circles (which can now be shaped into ovals) is tricky. It’s not like they’re tiny, I can see the individual outlines and points, but it won’t let me make changes when zoomed out. These are not tiny local adjustment circles, which I would understand if I need to zoom into those, they seem big enough that it should work.
Submit a bug report at support.dxo.com. This is a user forum, not technical support. Your reporting the problem here for other DxO customers is greatly appreciated!
I might not be able to replicate your scenario exactly, but depending on what I try with the Perspective tool (tested with “Rectangle” and “8 Points”),
I can trigger the warning you “discovered” before applying the effect:
In different cases, I receive a message after applying it:
This occurs in both PL 9 and PL 10.
I do not see the error specifically affecting the Perspective tool in PL 10.
“Anchor point location is invalid” usually appears when the point gets into an area that is outside of the original image area. This can happen when distortion correction is not limited. Moving the points inwards should remove the message.
Jana, could you provide us with sequence of events to reproduce the error? I could get “No correct perspective detected” error, but only when it was expected in Auto mode on certain types of photos. However, I was unable to get the “Invalid configuration” error. Could be quite specific.
I’m on PL10 with version 4 of the “Viewpoint” add-on. One of the first things I noticed is that when I clicked the “8 points” icon above the image, I found that the software had already automatically determined its’ own take on perspective, so I would try to hit the “reset” button located below the image. In PL9 the reset button worked every time, but in PL10 the reset button does nothing to reset the perspective tool. If I want to reset it, I have to go to the “Geometry” tab, turn on the “Perspective” tool and hit the “Cancel all perspective corrections”. After that, usually I can move the points as I please, but sometimes it would give me that yellow triangle “invalid configuration” message. I’ll have to keep playing with it to find a more specific time when this message appears, but it’s happened enough that I got frustrated with it.
Ah, okay – I’m at VP5. So I went back to PL7/VP4… but couldn’t achieve anything different than what I had tried in PL 9 and 10.
One more thing: None of the DxO presets (I usually use “2 – DxO Standard”) activate automatic perspective correction. However, if I explicitly activate it, I can still use the “Reset” tab (top right).
ViewPoint is not and add-on. It is an integral part of PhotoLab. It’s just a set of PhotoLab features that require you pay extra for an activation code in order to get at those features.
I’ve noticed in the video two things that look different on my PC (PL10/VP5/FP7 licenses), so I couldn’t reproduce it here.
Just strange: the Crop correction is in “Auto” mode. For PL8,9,10 I have only choice of “Manual” and “Auto based on keystoning/horizon”, no bare “Auto” option. Could it be because I have VP5 license and you have VP4? Or maybe it’s because I’m on 27" 4k (3840 x 2160) monitor with Windows display scale set to 175% (doubtful) ? That’s not a problem by itself, but a sign of some strange difference.
More importantly, when the 8-point button is clicked, the guide lines are sort of auto-corrected, while in my case they are always horizontal or vertical. I can move them freely, the bottom Reset button also working. Maybe the difference is once again in VP licenses ?? Or there is something hidden in your configuration, e.g. in default preset or the one used (seems unrelated, but not 100% sure) ?
Very strange indeed, looks like some PL10/VP4 incompatibility.
As a side-remark, if Auto does not suit me, I automatically hit the “Cancel all prespective corrections” button (left to “Auto” button, the “magic wand”) before making any manual corrections. I got used to do it this way after some bad experience with manual corrections straight after Auto was applied. Since the workaround is quick and I got used to do it automatically, I didn’t even report the problem to DxO. Can’t remember the details and when exactly it happened, it could be already with my first PL, version 7, but maybe later.
EDIT:
I’ve wrongly assumed that the topic is about PL/Win. The @Wolfgang observation below makes me think that more probably it’s Mac-specific rather than having something to do with VP4/VP5 licenses interpretation by PL.
This is what happens on my Mac. It’s been there in earlier versions of PL too.
Watch for the bottom line of the PC going out of the image, triggering the warning sign. In PL10 on Mac, it’s not possible to apply the setting.
I’ve never experienced this issue with PL9. This is the first time I’ve had a problem with it not resetting the perspective lines. I’ve never had to go to the actual tab with the tool and reset it there.
Judging by the video, you’re using a Mac (and I can’t help you with that anyway ).
Hitting the 8-point tool in the top row seems to show you the auto perspective correction proposal without applying it … and also without activating the perspective tool (TAB at the right side).
Most likely, I would
click the “Apply” button if the auto-correction suggestion is appropriate,
adjust the lines to my liking and accept them,
or simply deactivate the tool in the top bar and discard the suggestion.
[ My versions behave differently. The 8-point tool in the top row always activates the Perspective tool – as does a (modified) preset that applies automatic perspective correction from the start, or when that correction is invoked manually. ]