How many bits are used for each colour channel internally by DXO Photo Lab?

Hi

How many bits does DXO Photo Lab use internally for colours?

I am interested because I used to use Adobe Photoshop Elements which uses (or used to) 8 bits per channel and then I upgraded to Photoshop which uses 16 bits,

I am not really an expert but the explanation I found as to why this might matter is that while for display purposes it may not matter (though there is a thread here about how it might matter if your monitor supports 10 bits) if you edit an image multiple times e.g. changing the saturation many times, it will lose colour information. In practice I guess this would have to be a lot of times for a noticeable effect to kick in - and unlikely to be an issue for most photo editing workflows, but I am still interested in the question.

Thanks

Hi Justin,
does this help? – Talking about the bit depth in PL (not your monitor).

Wolfgang

1 Like

Internally it should have at least 16 bits.
14 bits would be a drastic minimum, but 16 bits (at least) sounds more realistic. And maybe more to provide better precision for “applying functions”.
New working space has been added to retain any color sensors can provide.

sensors do NOT provide colors…

Does a sensor not provide me with the colours to use which it has collected. i.e. the colours it can collect are the colours it can provide?

Guess it just depends which side of the sensor you stand.

When you edit a file in PhotLab, it does not matter how many times you edit it, because you are not actually editing the file itself - unlike for example when you edit an 8-bit jpg in Photoshop and save it as 8-bit jpg. When you start doing that, you do start losing things.

1 Like