Growing as a photographer

Hello everyone,

I’d like to ask you something…

In this forum you all share tips, advices and help to anyone seeking to improve his editing.
“Is deeprime needed at 100 iso?”
“How to properly convert an image to b&w?”
“When should I use Clearview?”
And so on…

Basically all topics found here relate to the technical aspect, but as a photographer, I would say that the most critical aspect to learn is to “see”, and when I say “see” I mean “seeing with your mind’s eyes” not your actual eyeballs.

How do you learn to visualize the image you are going to shoot? How do get better at it? Which ressources (please share your favorite) do you use? Which habits do you have?

…What do you do to become a better photographer?

Thanks.
Ian.

Joining a photography club is one way, for amateurs anyway.

1 Like

Practice.

I learned the basic theories a looong time ago, but I still to this day cannot put many of them to practical use in the field in a short enough time to be useful.

If I see a dragonfly on a leaf, what aperture should I use to get the best depth of field for the shot? I don’t know. I do know that I mostly shoot my long lens at f/8 and sometimes that’s not enough, so I will sometimes move to f/11 if I have the time.

But I simply do not spend enough time ‘getting it wrong’ and analysing my mistakes to get better at any speed. Given the luxury of time, I would do exactly that.

1 Like

This is a technical forum really focused on software. And while there are plenty of people here who can teach photography this is not a good environment to learn it, and some are quite pushy about “good photography” here… snobs, if you will.

There are some decent places to get more information about the photography bit. There are a few good podcasts, there are a few good forums and Facebook groups, but the ones focused on gear or software aren’t the right ones to learn about visualizing the composition or figuring out where or when or what is the best light.