Cropping and exporting and actual size for printing

Howdy,
I have decided to have a few prints of photos that I like made and I crop some of them down. I just noticed that in the PhotoLab Application, the Metadata shows the photo size and evidently the crop size(?): 8256 x 5504 (crop: 2614 x 3637).

However when I export the required tiff, I get an entirely different and larger cropped size, according to the macOS file info Dimensions: 5934 x 8256, and the same information given with Preview Info and Affinity Photo 2.

I am trying to figure out what would be the largest size nice looking print that I could have made of the photo. The company has some ratio calculations on their site and I have also read about simply dividing the longest side by 300 (dpi) for the largest size.

I am wondering;
Why the difference in PhotoLab VS Export size
Which method to use for photo print enlargement (Nations Photo Lab is who I am currently using). As you can tell, I am completely new to this photo printing stuff.

Thank you for your advice.

trav

Check your export preset, you may have parameter that changes the size of your files.

e.g.

and → Enable resizing

Magazine quality prints are said to require 300 ppi, but if you print a poster, resolution can be reduced to 150 or even lower ppi, unless you want to pixel peep the posters too.

Printing services usually tell you, which pixel dimensions you need for any given print size. The provided layouts will let you know when your input isn’t big enough. Play with the templates and you’ll find out. Whitewall.com seems to print nicely on all kinds of carriers, they might be worthwhile checking for reference.