Canon cRAW vs RAW

Hello everyone.
I am a concert photographer. Sometimes I’m assigned to work in clubs with extremely poor lighting, and, of course, ridiculous contrast. ISO’s can easily hit 20,000 and 50,000. That’s just the genre and there’s nothing much I can do except replace my 85mm f/1.8 with an 85mm f/1.2.

I use DeepPRIME XD on virtually every photo in these cases, of course. Here is my question: Has DxO tested and compared DeepPRIME XD with both RAW and cRAW files? In verb extreme cases like mine, will RAW visibly out-perform cRAW?

DxO will probably not answer your questions here, in the forum.

Your best bet is to test it yourself, which will also give you the knowledge of and confidence in your individual workflow from capture to export.

4 Likes

What exactly is “cRAW”? I’ve never heard that term being used and I can’t find anything online. What is a “cRAW” exactly?

Ah, never mind., I found some info on it. It looks like Canon’s propitiatory lossy compression for RAW files.

Yes, cRAW is “visually lossless,” and my understanding is that means the noise patterns are perceptively different and that’s all.

This is why I asked: When I’m assigned to shoot a punk band in a club with terrible lighting, I still want the best result possible. Given that ISO’s might hit 20,000 or more and the light is terrible and highly contrasty and forget about any kind of evenness to the color balance… DeepPRIME XD is almost always my choice and I just wonder if it would give me better results with the uncompressed RAW images.

1 Like

I see. I don’t use Canon so I can’t test, I’m a Sony shooter, but I think that personally I would want the best least compressed RAW I can get for overall best results, unless I’m shooting for Social media only, where minor differences are not going to be noticeable as they do upon pixel peeping or larger prints.