Copy correction settings after "No correction" preset is applied includes focussing distance

I’m using PL8 on Windows 11.

What I do is:

  • Open image of colorchart
  • Apply “No correction preset”
  • Create color profile
  • Copy correction settings

Next:

-Open other image
-Paste selected corrections

The selected corrections contain: working color space, white balace, color/B&W rendering (all as expected), but also the “focussing distance” (not as expected)

I can disable the focussing distance when pasting settings, but it adds another step in my workflow.

My question: Is there a way to not to copy the “focussing distance”?

Just a guess.
When you open another image for the first time the default preset will be used. And when this image has been opened before the former preset. So probably you have to add “no corrections” again.

George

Presets come in two flavours: “full” and “partial”.

When a preset is created, all corrections are included and the preset will be a full preset. This means that all settings will take effect, even those that should be left as is.

In order to make a preset partial, the full preset must be edited and the tools that should not take effect must be deselected. Then save the preset and use it as seems fit.

You might find more about this in here:

I tried to make a preset with the focus distance disabled, but so far it did not worked.

Maybe it has to do with the observation (at least in Windows) that DxO PhotoLab automatically reads the focusing distance from the camera’s EXIF data. When the metadata is clear and supported by a DxO Optics Module, the focusing distance tool remains hidden or disabled because the software already has the precise data it needs for optical corrections (like distortion and chromatic aberration).

One would assume the “no corrections” preset does not take focusing distance along, quod non.