Author Topic: PhotoLab 1 enhancements proposal  (Read 1473 times)

Simone

PhotoLab 1 enhancements proposal
« on: February 02, 2018, 11:12:08 pm »
I'm new to DxO, just bought Photo Suite Elite edition a month ago but used it a lot since then, sometime reworking photos already passed through Lightroom.

I switched to DxO after using for many years Lightroom (since version 3). I felt that I was squeezing the most out of that RAW converter but I could do more, and with DxO, actually... I can!

But for me, used to Lightroom, it was not an easy transition and even if I'm very happy with my new photo suite, I think there is room for improvements so I drafted a short list of PhotoLab 1.1 enhancement:
  • Metadata editing and saving into sidecar so they can be embedded into JEPG when exporting. I know author and copyright are editable but there are also many other field to edit like image title, description, tags, etc...
  • Manual crop tool: ability to set a custom aspect ratio and turn the aspect from landscape to portrait and the other way round.
  • Manual crop tool: flag to set constraints when resizing crop area so you will not end up with black corners when horizon or perspective adjustments are applied.
  • Repair tool: in some circumstances it would be useful to have the ability to manually move the position of the source data in another place of the image.
  • To make fine adjustment on equalizer (local adjustment) on Windows you have to click and then move the mouse horizontally but it is a little bit tricky to move the mouse "only" horizzontally without affecting the value you are adjusting by a consequent slight vertical move. Couldn't be simpler to have a modifier key like "shift" when dragging vertically to slow down the value change instead of the current horizontal drag method?
  • A "radial graduated filter" would be helpful in addition to the linear graduated filters that is available in the local adjustments palette.