Author Topic: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?  (Read 2328 times)

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« on: December 27, 2017, 09:17:49 am »
Hello,
The title of this post says it all. Does Photolab not import panoramas created in Lightroom? There's a big question mark on these files. Should I convert from DNG? Advice very welcome!

MikeFromMesa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 02:48:40 pm »
I do not use Lightroom so I am not sure what format the panoramas are in, but if they are in dng format, then PhotoLab will not open them.

PhotoLab opens dng files if, and only if, they come from a camera that has dng as its native raw format, and will not open any other dng files. In fact, if you process some raw images that PhotoLab does support and export them as dng images PhotoLab will not open those exported images either. That is, it will not even open dng images that it creates itself.

Nick_

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2017, 03:47:34 pm »
DPL reads all standard DNG files such as those generated by some cameras and by Adobe DNG Converter. Yet, even though I don’t use LR, I am surprised it generates panoramas in the DNG format. Since it’s probably not a true RAW file you should save them in a standard format such as TIFF (preferably) or JPEG.
Nick

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2017, 04:04:31 pm »
Thank you MikeFromMesa and Nick_!
I'll save them as Tiff. I shoot Sony A7RII.

jdean

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2017, 04:26:53 pm »
DXO PhotoLab does indeed open DNG files, I converted the raw files from my Lumix GX8 to DNG files with Adobe Raw Converter and edited them in PhotoLab without issue.

sgospodarenko

  • DxO tester (Win version)
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2017, 08:14:56 am »
Hello,

Well, actually PhotoLab supports standard DNG file from Adobe Raw Converter and Lightroom. I guess it's not the reason why your DNG panorama is not supported.

Could you, please, share that panorama file with me for the analysis?

Thank you
Regards,
Svetlana G.
Regards,
Svetlana G.

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2017, 02:12:36 pm »
Thank you all.
Svetlana, I've just send you 4 .dng panorama files that Photolab would't open (just a big question mark).

MikeFromMesa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2017, 02:14:16 pm »
Hello,

Well, actually PhotoLab supports standard DNG file from Adobe Raw Converter and Lightroom. I guess it's not the reason why your DNG panorama is not supported.

Could you, please, share that panorama file with me for the analysis?

Thank you
Regards,
Svetlana G.

Is this new functionality?

I have tried using the Adobe dng converter in the past with Optics Pro and never had any success in getting Optics pro to display them, so I just stopped trying.

sgospodarenko

  • DxO tester (Win version)
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2017, 02:19:23 pm »

Is this new functionality?

I have tried using the Adobe dng converter in the past with Optics Pro and never had any success in getting Optics pro to display them, so I just stopped trying.

Well, it's comparably new, at least it's already available in OP11.

To mujabad: have you uploaded them on upload.dxo.com?

Regards,
Svetlana G.
Regards,
Svetlana G.

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2017, 03:38:01 pm »
Hello Svetlana,

I'm in the proces of doing so. They're on their way.  Did not know about upload.dxo.com.
Now I know. Sorry about that.

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2017, 04:16:50 pm »
Done and send.

Asser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2017, 05:47:48 pm »
My knowledge of the whole thing is that PhotoLab can handle Raw DNGs but no Linear DNGs. The difference is explained here:

 http://www.barrypearson.co.uk/articles/dng/linear.htm

I would also expect that the panorama DNG produced in Lightroom is a linear one. A linear DNG is not a raw file anymore. I do not know about any advantage of a linear DNG over a 16bit ProPhoto TIFF.

Here the confirmation that the output is a linear DNG:
http://www.adobepress.com/articles/article.asp?p=2337460

I think that the DNGs exported from PhotoLab are also linear ones. That is the reason, why they cannot be imported again. Looks like raw, people think they combine raws and move them around, but actually it is a bitmap under the hood. This is the reason, why the file size is increased by factor 3.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 06:21:15 pm by Asser »

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2017, 06:02:00 pm »
Sounds reasonable Asser. I’ll see what Svetlana says.

MikeFromMesa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2017, 08:13:05 pm »
Well, it's comparably new, at least it's already available in OP11.
Apparently PhotoLab will still not open the dng files it produces itself.

I just exported some raw images as dng in PL and then tried to further process them, but no luck. The message is the same as I remember from Optics Pro - that it was taken with a camera that is not supported by this version.

mujabad

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: LR created panoramas no import in Photolab?
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2017, 08:50:23 pm »
Ok Mike. There seems to be some confusion here. Some say DXO Photolab does handle dng's. I don't know about single shot dng's , but I'm sure I cannot see in Photolab imported dng. panoramas ( "...was taken with a camera that is not supported by this version/Photolab"). Asser has a very interesting explanation and this afternoon I have sent 4 pano's to Svetlana (DXO) here. Maybe Photolab will not process any dng's (?). As I said before, I 'll wait for a reaction from Svetlana.

 

photography