Author Topic: Workflow Ideas questions  (Read 1258 times)

bmeabroad

Workflow Ideas questions
« on: December 04, 2017, 06:56:37 am »
I am new to DXO and enjoying its capabilities. I would like workflow suggestions if anyone would be kind enough share their thoughts. My photography is generally travel related or street photography in my home city. I previously used Aperture for importing, organizing, processing, and sharing (and backing up - locally or drop box). I am now looking for tools. I am happy with DXO photolab for all of the raw processing and adjustments. I have generally not liked lightroom.

What I usually am doing / would like to be doing: importing from card to computer, rating by 5 stars system, saving to a filing system based on general location (home or away from home) year, specific locations. Setting up (automatic) folders/projects/collections related to specifics such as what camera, what lens, specific projects I may be working on. Then I want to easily find the photos I want to work on with DXO photolab, make whatever adjustments, add tags, usually post selected photos to flickr, tag photos sent to flickr with an "on flickr" tag so I know which ones were uploaded...and do this all in record time or little by little without losing track. So far it has not been important to me to have a cloud back up or to be able to see my full photo library on every other device I might use. Printing has also not been important. I am using a 7 year old imac with Sierra and a not super fast internet connection. I may upgrade computer and internet speed soon.

Bonus for something that will help (or at least not hinder) ultimately being able to organize/manage the 1.0TB photos currently in an Aperture managed library

Pieloe

Re: Workflow Ideas questions
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 02:27:30 pm »
XnView - multi OS viewer

To sort your photos and then
Tools / Open with /

ColinG

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2017, 02:33:21 pm »