Author Topic: Tiff export only 72 ppi  (Read 669 times)

Rondo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Tiff export only 72 ppi
« on: August 13, 2017, 09:02:20 pm »
My original images are 350 ppi- when export as Tiff DxO Optics 11 scales it down to only 72 ppi.
I don't want a decrease in resolution- defeats the purpose of shooting Raw and exporting as Tiff.
This issue has never been adequately addressed.  There are no settings in the program regarding this.
72ppi resolution is equated with images for web quality only.  Any photographers using this program don't want their original image resolution downgraded.  This is a real weak point with the program.

Bencsi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2017, 10:15:18 am »
Hi Rondo,

 Are you sure the only resolution for TIFF is 72 pi ? Have a look on your image export window editable Resolution field.

Endre
Win7/64 PC, i7-3770, 3.9GHz, 24G RAM, Intel HD-4000 GPU, 27" calibrated LG monitor 1920*1080 px res. 82 DPI

Nick_

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2017, 02:05:05 pm »
I don't care about the ppi resolution. What actually matters is the pixel count. When displayed on a monitor or printed on paper the resolution will be adapted to the size of the media and it's the number of pixels that will make the difference.
Nick

Rondo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2017, 04:43:59 pm »
Bencsi-
In DxO Optics Pro 11 the image export window editable Resolution field appears only to Export to Disk.  The window for export to application has different settings and you can't select ppi. 

Stumbling through this, if I want to Export to Application, Paintshop Pro or Lightroom,  I get 72 ppi, if I Export to Disc I can get 300 ppi.  This issue has been brought up over the years with no solutions
« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 05:02:22 pm by Rondo »

Rondo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2017, 05:15:12 pm »
I should have stated dpi- still get confused.  72 dpi is low resolution when tiff is exported to application.  If exported to disc it can retain original dpi.  Confirmed by DxO Optics support.  Long standing complaint- so you export to application for a faster workflow and then have to end up resizing your image to get a decent resolution in dpi- defeats the purpose of having this feature.

How do other users deal with this?

Bencsi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2017, 12:20:20 am »
Hi Rondo,

 It seems there is a solution for better resolution TIFF export. Frankly speaking, it is your decision to choose the export form.

Endre
Win7/64 PC, i7-3770, 3.9GHz, 24G RAM, Intel HD-4000 GPU, 27" calibrated LG monitor 1920*1080 px res. 82 DPI

Rondo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2017, 03:38:46 pm »
Bencsi-
Only solution for better resolution TIFF export is to choose Export to Disc.
The Export to Application DOES NOT have the same options.  Defeats the purpose of Export to Application.
Acknowledged by DxO support as a limitation that may be addressed in future updates.

Bencsi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2017, 05:31:27 pm »
I understand your point of view. You should wait or make export to disk.
FYR this threads are not checking anymore by DxO. We exchange opinion to each others only.

Good luck
Win7/64 PC, i7-3770, 3.9GHz, 24G RAM, Intel HD-4000 GPU, 27" calibrated LG monitor 1920*1080 px res. 82 DPI

CopyKatnj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2017, 07:39:07 pm »
I've been following this thread and thought I'd add the following.

Often times when the dpi is not known applications assign 72dpi as a default. If happens often when someone sends me a phone pic that doesn't contain dpi info.

Could be what is happening with DXO 11 export to application. Set your importing application to make every import 300dpi and correct color space might fix this issue.

embe71

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2017, 09:22:24 am »
DPI has nothing to do with actual resolution of an image....it's a scaling-factor for printing (therefore dots per inch) and can be modified anytime. You won't "loose" any resolution if setting DPI to 72 instead of 300. That's nonsense...
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 09:24:17 am by embe71 »

Bencsi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2017, 01:26:00 pm »
Thanks your argument embe71, that is the point. Someone, who print the image has importance of the DPI only. It is related to display the image ( monitor, projector and printer ), not to process.

Endre
Win7/64 PC, i7-3770, 3.9GHz, 24G RAM, Intel HD-4000 GPU, 27" calibrated LG monitor 1920*1080 px res. 82 DPI

Rondo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2017, 09:28:17 pm »
I appreciate all of the comments and feedback.  I have contacted Technical Support- they said the issue may be fixed in a future release.
Regardless, DxO wants to be a professional program, yet when Exporting to Application at 72dpi, for printing you have to resize each image to a higher dpi to get a decent print.  Ridiculous extra work.  Enough said on my part.

embe71

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2017, 12:59:53 pm »
Obviously you still didn't get it...no need to "resize"...

Mike1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Tiff export only 72 ppi
« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2017, 08:26:32 pm »
As others have said, ppi is completely irrelevant to outputting images digitally.

Its only purpose is was as a means of scaling images to fit onto paper when physically printed, in the days before printer drivers had scaling controls. Now that 100% of printers can scale images without requiring you to do dpi calculations, it really serves no useful purpose.

Maybe Technical Support can fix it by removing the option to prevent such confusion.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 08:28:20 pm by Mike1 »

 

photography
photography