Author Topic: Non-CPU lenses  (Read 1329 times)

Rex Block

Non-CPU lenses
« on: January 16, 2017, 05:18:43 pm »
How do I tell DxO to use a module for a particular lens? I have a non-CPU lens (Nikkor 180mm f/2.8 ED manual focus). Does DxO need to know about the particular lens here? Is it sufficient for it to know it was a generic (?) 180mm lens?

I'm fairly new to this lens, and while results looked ok, I did notice that when playing around with adjustments on barrel distortion, things improved somewhat.

Thanks for your help!

Alan9940

Re: Non-CPU lenses
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 11:45:07 pm »
See my answer to your similar post.

Kind regards,
AlanH

MikeFromMesa

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 03:44:06 pm »
AlanH:

I know of no way to do what the OP is asking so I would be interested in seeing your response to this question. Perhaps there is something interesting I could learn about using OP, but I could not find a previous post from the OP that you responded to concerning this.

Perhaps you could post a link?

Alan9940

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 10:35:55 pm »
Hello Mike,

http://forum.dxo.com/index.php/topic,13171.0.html

However, if you read my responses in that thread you'll see that I don't provide a definitive answer. I could be dreaming and I'm old so, maybe, I'm totally mistaken, but I seem to remember reading something on these boards over the years concerning modifying the EXIF tag for lens data. I, also, vaguely remember that it's a bit of a crap shoot because each camera/lens combo stores this information in different places. Perhaps it's not in EXIF, but someplace else. Regardless, OP reads this information from somewhere in order to load the correct lens module, yes?

To confess fully, I've never done this myself for a lens. I've only ever modified EXIF information to enable OP to properly recognize pics from my iPhone 6+ when I've used a third-party camera app that writes their own proprietary data into EXIF.

Kind regards,
AlanH